Alex Curtis- Media Diary

Posted: January 19, 2011 by Alex Curtis in Uncategorized

Thursday, 8 am, I am jarred awake like every morning by a loud radio alarm. I usually like to begin my day by listening to CBC Radio One, but due to some unfortunate contact with the tuning dial yesterday, it’s just a mess of static and country music. I hop out of bed and run across the room to hit the snooze on the alarm, and at the same time I turn on my phone (I turn it off before bed every night).

I actually have a small nightstand-ish table that I have dubbed my “media centre”. On it, I keep my television, iPod, Phone, Radio and a basket full of batteries, headphones and other little trinkets that help with my technological impairment.  It’s also located right by the door so that I don’t forget anything on my way out in the morning. I close my eyes in bed again and within seconds, my phone is vibrating like a mad man, so I get up again, turn of my alarm so it doesn’t end up going off while I’m in the shower, and check my text messages. Then, since I’m awake, I decide to have a read through some headlines on my “favourites” that I’ve saved on my iPod.  I get my news from CBC.ca, and then check Pitchfork, Punknews, Thrasher and Sherdog and a few personal blogs I follow just for my own amusement.

I walk to school with my iPod in, ignoring everyone in the world and rejoicing in the sunshine. When I get to campus, I check emails and facebook, but decide on this particular day to deactivate my account. I recently decided that I would like to rid myself of facebook and social networking sites and even try to get rid of my cellphone, in order to fully commit to being an actual emotional human being, and so that I don’t have to rely on technology to socialize. It’s a daunting task, but I did it happily for 18 years, so there’s no reason I couldn’t revert back to being a Luddite.

Throughout the rest of the day, I spend time doing readings both online and in books for my classes and spend some time searching online for articles for a research paper. I flip through an abandoned Aquinian while eating lunch and spend a little more time online before leaving campus.I get home around 7 o’clock and turn the TV on to keep me company. I spend a bit more time still on the internet, navigating to Facebook twice, almost forgetting both times that I just made a commitment to stop using it.

I run out for the night, and get to watch sports highlights while out at a pub with some friends. I get home late, fix the tuning dial on my alarm, and unintentionally make an ironic choice for a pleasure read, “White Noise” by Don Delillo. I read it until I fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

