Media Diary – Elizabeth Sullivan

Posted: January 19, 2011 by Elizabeth Sullivan in #1 Media Diary

i didn’t want to confuse the “data” so I just wrote it out in point form as I remembered it:

7:00 – Alarm goes off (iPod)
8:45 – Landlord on my roof hammering get's me out of bed and into the shower
9:00 – Coffee (set to percolate automatically last night)
9:01 – Blow-dry Hair
9:03 – Toilet
9:05 – Clothes on
9:10 – Quick peek through fridge
9:15 – Put backpack together
9:25 – Catch the bus (listen to iPod for duration of ride)
9:50 – Text
10:10 – Check email x 2/Facebook
10:15  - Text again
10:30 – Send Email
12:00 – Pen & Paper
12:57 – Catch Bus
1:05 – Cross crosswalk
1:08 – Cardkey unlock CBC door
1:10 – Text/use microwave.
1:11 – Use Computer's word processor
1:25 – Check email x 2/Facebook
1:29 – Back to word processor
2:16 – Catch bus
2:30 – Pen & paper - Media & Politics Class
4:00 – Pen & Paper/ Textbook - Japanese Class
5:20 – Text
5:22 – Text
5:23 – Check bus schedule
5:25 – Sit read book/text
5:27 – Check time/text
5:35 – Check time/text
5:45 – check time – leave for bus
5:47 – text
5:49 – text
5:50 – text
5:58 – catch bus
6:10 – check bus schedule x 2
6:24 – Check mailbox
6:25 – Regular key into my house
6:40 – Watch the X-Files online
7:10 – microwave leftover steak/Start the dishes
7:12 – Start laundry
7:15 – create salad
7:25 – Watch the X-Files and eat
8:10 – Use word processor
8:23 – go online
8:35 – boil some water for tea/finish dishes
8:40 – start media diary
8:50 – Catch tail end of a Denzel Washington movie
9:30 – Finish writing Daily events
9:32 – Finish forgotten laundry : /

Usually I finish the day by brushing my teeth, putting together something that I can remember that I need to do for the next day, I do a small yoga routine and bed time follows shortly thereafter. If it’s a good week, then the process begins again.

Remembering a day is far easier than I had expected. Although my timing may be a little off due to moments in time when a lot of action was taking place at once – the general feeling for the day was I believe to be quite accurate. I had a planed out the day’s schedule, and I exercised it as I had planned – with a few added or unexpected tasks.

Having to address the idea of what constituted technology was another interesting aspect of this exercise. I am intrigued by how much old technology we still use, and what technology we’ve replaced since something new/ ”better” came along. Although it feels like we’re ‘plugged in’ just because we’re succumbing to the embrace of the internets… the cloud is all around us; in the concrete world as well as the abstract binary world we’ve created.

Leave a Reply

