The Revolution in Egypt – Melissa Dickinson

Posted: February 9, 2011 by melissadickinson in Uncategorized

One thing this course has allowed me to comprehend are the flaws that journalists tend to possess. With this assignment, I have learned another flaw journalists embody. They have a tendency to neglect other stories in the world that are just as worthy of being headlined. Something I look for in a news source is how well rounded they are. I dislike watching a news channel, or surfing a news site when all they are headlining is the crisis in Egypt (or the latest “big news making occurrence” that is happening in the world).

I hate to sound like I’m nit-picking on journalists and suggesting that all journalists are the same. However, I believe journalists need to be concerned about all spectrums of the world. Yes, it is true that some occurrences in the world will out-shine others, and that some occurrences are not necessarily worth being in the news. Nevertheless, as I write this response, I log on to the Globe and Mail website and the first headline in the news section deals with the crisis in Egypt. I’m sure that since this revolution first occurred about 2 weeks ago that there have been other occurrences in the world that are worth as much discussion as this issue.

I first learned about the happenings in Egypt at a table in the George Martin cafeteria. I found it so refreshing to learn about this through human interaction. I don’t have a Twitter account, and I don’t have newspaper applications on my iPod touch. Therefore, when I first learn about a big headline, like that of the revolution in the streets of Egypt, I usually learn about it from Facebook, when I’m flicking through the channels on the television, or when I’m sitting with my friends socializing.

Our reliance on technology sometimes blurs the reliance we should have on our social interactions. I’m not implying that our world is completely neglecting one another and our noses are always glued to cell phones, iPads and computer screens. But one can’t deny that these technologies are a big part of our everyday life. I mean, the internet wasn’t just turned off in Egypt for a good laugh or two. They are trying to send a message, and I believe we can all learn a thing or two from it. I think that it is necessary to stay up to date with what is going on in the world (and I’m a completely guilty of not keeping up with this), but I think there are things in life that are just as important. Put down the cell phone, put down the iPod, and enjoy what this world has to offer. Get out, explore, and write it down in a journal instead of tweeting it for all to see.

 

Leave a Reply

