Joanne Goodall’s Media Diary

Posted: February 15, 2011 by Joanne Goodall in #1 Media Diary

Wednesday January 12, 2011

8:00AM

When I wake up in the morning I usually put on Much Music on my T.V. to listen to the hits. Usually they play more folk, light rock, and pop but mix in the hits from the billboards to spice it up. I just enjoy listening to music while I brush my teeth, put on make up, and do my hair. I also like to copy down songs I liked listening to so that I can download them later, or listen to them on Groove Shark, a website dedicated to making playlists. Much Music is also a haven for smart marketing and communications, on part of the corporations- not the poor parents who now have to go and buy their child a new pair of Nike shoes because Kayne West had them in his new video. Due to the invention of personal video recorders (or P.V.Rs), people can fast forward through commercials so more and more companies are relying on product placement and celebrity endorsements.

I also checked my Facebook. I’m seriously addicted. It is crack to me. No one changed their status since I last checked it out at midnight. I don’t even make a new status- it’s a boring day in the world of Facebook this morning.

9:00AM

I have my Reporting 2.0 class on Wednesdays at 9am. We watched a You Tube video about Marshal McLuhan. I’ve learned a lot about McLuhan throughout my years as a journalism student and I agree that we are living in a global village. We feel connected to each other through technology- we can easily find out what is happening in Australia by a click of a mouse. We also check out Nieman’s Journalism Lab, a Harvard University project. We didn’t talk much about the site but I found myself curious. I wrote down the address to check it out later on my free time.

11:00AM

I have a very long break in between my reporting 2.0 class and my publishing and editing class. During this time I usually check my Facebook (again). It’s a new community to me- I can keep track of what my old friends are doing, exchange ideas with others, post my thoughts on forums, and remember old photos. It’s kind of like a high school reunion but you don’t actually have to physically see them. This makes me question the future of our ability to talk to people face to face. Will this form of communication lose its sense of importance? I don’t think so- it’s very hard to drop word of mouth just like that. But I must say that it is a lot easier to talk to people about tougher issues over Facebook or MSN than it is to their face.

I text a lot when I’m on my break. My cell phone is pretty crappy- one of those annoying flip phones that you have to press the same button in order to get the right letter. My T9 is REALLY slow and my thumb hurts after 5 minutes but I continue anyways.

I also downloaded music from the list I had made this morning of songs I liked from Much Music. I drag and drop them into folders on my MP3 player so that I can listen to them on the road. Music has become very accessible. I remember having to get my mom to take me to the mall and buy a CD. Then I would go home and listen through it once, only to realize that I only like half the songs anyways. With the Internet, I can skip all of the songs I don’t like and just buy the ones I do! So simple!

I also went to the mall to try and change my Aliant options for my home phone and to possibly buy a new Blackberry. The Aliant-Bell store told me that I had to phone their customer service desk in order to change anything on my existing account. I’m really impatient at this point but I shrug it off because I know the poor girl can’t do anything for me so why bother telling her off. Wal-Mart was sold out of the Blackberries for Koodo so I didn’t bother buying one. I really want one because I can check my emails, Facebook, and chat with others more easily.

2:30PM

I am at the CBC for my publishing and editing course. I read the Beacon, my graduating classes’ bi-weekly online newspaper. Instead of creating a newspaper, we have to individually send our article to our editors via WordPress. WordPress is a free website where people can create a blog. Both my publishing and editing and reporting 2.0 classes have WordPress sites.

During class, I started to text people to see what they are doing for supper. I put the phone on silent so I don’t disturb anyone. I check both the New Brunswick and Nova Scotia government websites for press releases to see if there is a possible news story to cover. I didn’t see anything that really jumped out at me, so I tried the “community” and “events” section of Kijiji, Fredericton. These are great places to check for stories: either news, features, or sports.

5:00PM

It’s break time again for me. I text to my friends. It’s become a means of communication between us. I think I text more often than actually talk to my friends on some days! I usually say words like “lol” and I sometimes use “u” instead of “you”. It’s weird because I am usually a grammar Nazi but when it comes to Internet slang, it doesn’t bother me as much. I’d rather see someone type or text “ur” or “u r” than “your”, if they want to say “you’re”.

I’m hanging out with my friends at the James Dunn cafeteria. We don’t have computers on, nor is there a T.V. on. We don’t talk about politics, world issues, or the news. We mostly talked about relationships, parties, class work, and complained about the weather. We did, however, talk about Ted Williams, a radio announcer phenomenon. He was homeless, suffered from addictions, and begged for someone to give him a chance on radio. He got his chance when a reporter video taped him saying “You are listening to….” in his radio broadcasting voice. The reporter then used it later on in a story, posted the video on You Tube, and Ted Williams became a sensation over night with millions of people viewing this video. It’s really easy now to become your own movie star, or radio sensation, or reporter because of the Internet and websites like You Tube.

7:00PM

I watched CNN during my Free Speech and the Free Press class on the projector. Don used both a PVR burned DVD and the CNN website to show us footage about the Tuscon shootings. We also watched clips from Royal Canadian Air Farce, The Daily Show with John Stuart, The Colbert Report, and SNL when Greg presented his report on satire and how it stretches the boundaries of free speech.

10:00PM

Before I went to bed, I checked my email, Facebook, and looked over the headlines on CBC’s website. I didn’t read the full articles because I was too tired but I could get the jest of what the story was about by the first paragraph posted with the headline. However, by doing this and making it a habit, I find myself not able to read longer, in-depth pieces of journalism because my attention span is only in tuned to read a paragraph.

I also read a few pages out of my tree book: GONZO, a biography on Hunter S. Thompson. I wonder what he would think about the speed of technology. I know he fought with his typewriter, used a fax machine, and loved to leave creepy messages on answering machines but there was no mention of the Internet, Blackberries, and Twitter. I guess they were all past his heyday.

List of media tools used for the day: -Internet: CBC website, CNN website, You Tube, Facebook, STU email, Hotmail -‘Tree Books’: GONZO, a biography on Hunter S. Thompson -burned DVD for CNN stories on Tucson shootings -cell phone -T.V.: Much Music

Leave a Reply

