Twitter – Melissa Dickinson

Posted: February 23, 2011 by melissadickinson in #6 Twitter

 

Just like it was with Facebook, I joined Twitter because my friends said it was the “next big thing!” Seriously, peer pressure…sucks! BECAUSE, just like it was with my beginning days on Facebook, when I re-started my Twitter I couldn’t get enough. (Please note: I actually activated Twitter back in 2009. For several reasons, I failed to be a successful Twit) I added the Twitter application to my Blackberry where I could instantly get updates about so many topics in the palm of my hands. This frustrates me because only a few weeks ago I was writing about how ridiculous this age of technology has gotten. And personally, I think it gets a little out of hand in some areas. Twitter was one of those areas. Sadly, I am now part of that technological phenomenon…and I kind of like it.

Here are some of the impacting aspects I have taken away from my return to Twitter:

#1 – I find myself becoming more knowledgeable about the world. This morning when I woke up and turned on my Blackberry and scrolled through the Twitter newsfeed, I found this post about the devastating earthquake in New Zealand. A week ago, I guarantee I probably would not have heard about this until days after the disaster initially happened. I credit my new found sources of knowledge (and desire to want to gather knowledge) to this class. It’s sparked my interest to stay up-t0-date with the news. And Twitter is a great way to do that. Which leads me to my second point…

#2 – As a journalist (or even as a social human being), it can be hard to limit what you want to say to 140 characters. However, after following some credible news sources (such as The Globe and Mail, CBC New Brunswick and The New York Times) I found I really enjoyed the short headline-like tweets that provided a link to the news article. It eliminated having to search through several headlines and categories of news to find something that sparks your interest.

#3 – As a new Tweeter(?),  (I’m not sure what the proper term for being an individual who uses Twitter is, so if someone would like to correct me, please do so!) I tended not to read tweets that had numerous green links, hashtags and ‘@’ signs. It made it hard to decipher what the tweet was trying to convey, and I found it kind of overwhelming.

#4 – Following people like Rosie O’Donnell provide a great form of entertainment.

#5 – Twitter is NOT a way to do something I already was doing. What I mean is that prior to this past week, I was always under the assumption that Twitter was merely Facebook status updates with a twist. Alas, I have been proven wrong and plan to embrace it.  So, here is my formal apology to all those people that I rolled my eyes at, poked fun of and questioned when they told me they used Twitter. However, I do hope that after reading my post that you understand why I acted the way I did. I was merely uniformed of how to correctly use Twitter (and I still have a lot to learn). I plan to embrace the awesomeness that is Twitter, and hopefully in due time I’ll become an expert Twitter-person-thing (really, if someone could correct me on the right lingo, that would be great!)

Comments
  1. sharonfawcett says:

    Re: point #3. I’m not sure what the proper term for Twitter users is either, but I like to call them (and now me, I guess) “Twits.” Affectionately, of course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

