Fair warning…

Posted: February 24, 2011 by Alyssa Mosher in News

24/03/11

So I made the mistake a tweeting something preemptively from my phone  and needed to retract the info as quickly as possible once I was near a computer. But when I logged on to Twitter at my house, my latest tweet wasn’t there. My account had been suspended. I wasn’t really sure what this meant or how this could be. A message at the top of my screen said administration could have made a mistake, but then I checked the Twitter violations page. Spam was one of the listed violations and I might have indirectly contributed to it.

I got some very obvious Twitter spam from someone I didn’t know (probably a fake name) linking me to a site that was clearly not related to anything because this “person” didn’t really know who I was. I can’t even remember what the article was about, but it was something business-like, almost acting as an advertisement. So, I retweeted what “she” sent me specifically (i.e. @ammosher), letting everyone know that Twitter spam existed. I think my mistake was using the word “spam.”

Apparently I can appeal the decision by filing out some sort of form, but I have no idea where to start.  I didn’t think this would happen to me – especially when I wasn’t even aware that I did anything wrong.

Fair warning to new – and old – Twitter-users…

ciao4now

Leave a Reply

