All A-Twitter

Posted: February 28, 2011 by Mike Carter in #6 Twitter

Is the past tense of tweet twat? I sometimes feel like a twat for using this thing. But that is because, before this class, I had not realized the uses for twitter that can be applied for businesses and journalists alike.

As a source for the latest breaking news, nothing beats twitter, facebook etc. for rapid succession of the worlds news in a manageable glimpse. But is it all good? We have to caution against a sole reliance on such technological novelties. Nothing can replace actually going and seeing the news first hand. Even when tweeting about it may be one way in which you share it with the world. Local news can get lost in the wash of world events in the twittosphere.

I started a twitter account a few weeks into the Christmas break. It has remained rather useless for me personally. I just don’t hold an interest in tweeting constantly. I post news that I think people may find interesting. The topics range from NHL trades to political developments and everything in between. I have built up a few followers, 21, most of which I do not know from a hole in the wall and also a few friends of mine.

As for the five most useful things I have learned from my twitter feed, the list is pretty sparse. I am not totally unaware of the uses of twitter. I followed the Egyptian revolution on there quite extensively, posting many tweets myself. My top 5 would look something like this:

5) Ross Neilson is back in town following a trip to Memphis and is doing a few solo shows.

4) Kris Versteeg was traded from the Toronto Maple Leafs to the Philadelphia Flyers for the Flyers 1st and 3rd round pick in the 2011 draft.

3) The Toronto Maple Leafs traded Tomas Kaberle to the Boston Bruins for prospect Joe Colborne, the Bruins 1st round draft pick and a conditional 2nd round pick, based on whether or not Kaberle re-signs a new contract with the Bruins.

2) Protestors in good spirits in Tahrir Square (February 9th, 2011).

1) Mubarak addresses crowd in Tahrir Square, does not step down (February 10, 2011).

Leave a Reply

