Welcoming myself back to the Twitter world

Posted: February 28, 2011 by Alyssa Mosher in News
Tags: , ,

28/02/11

That’s right, ladies and gentlemen, I have returned – with caution.

After my account was suspended for “unknown reasons,” I almost gave up on the idea of ever returning to the Twitter world. I’m not going to lie, I missed Twitter a lot  and I was even considering opening a new account (if they’d take my real name). But tonight, I got five tweets in a row to my phone and I knew my fate had finally been decided. It took them about a week and a half but I’m back and it feels good.

It turns out retweeting spam (even without the intention to spam, yourself) isn’t a good thing on Twitter. Here’s the message I got from Artie, the real person behind Twitter Support:

Hello,
Your account was suspended for retweeting an update posted by a spam account. We have automated methods to find and remove bulk, automated spam accounts from Twitter and unfortunately we do sometimes suspend users by mistake.
I have unsuspended your account, but please be careful what you tweet or retweet. Please note that it may take an hour or so for your follower and following numbers to return to normal.
Thanks,
artie

So there you have. All I have to say is fair warning, keep it safe and keep tweeting.

ciao4now

Comments
  1. shanefowler2 says:

    Do you feel like automated censorship in a system like Twitter is a good thing or a bad thing? Taking into account the events in the middle east right now, as well as the issue of spam. Don’t say yes and no either, lol! I’m challenging you to take a stand, given your experiance so far into the “Twitterverse?”

  2. Alyssa Mosher says:

    Haha, okay, Shane!

    I think it’s sort of weird that there is an automated censoring – but I think it’s also necessary. Although I didn’t realise it, I did indirectly spam everyone who was following me. And while the point of my retweet of my spammer was to be “clever” or “funny,” but it turns out that I only fell into the trap of my spammer.

    I think especially censoring on a website like Twitter could be essential to its use for the events that are happening in the Middle East. Who knows what sort of false information – or complete ludicrus – is circulating out there, so I think an automated censoring system lets the Twitter folks be cautious – especially people like me who are so new to the “Twitterverse” as you say. It kind of gives me a (potentially false) sense of security, which I think is better than nothing…

Leave a Reply

