Oooh, something shiny?

Posted: March 23, 2011 by Sara Power in #9 Japan

I got my first introduction to the crisis in Japan by CBC Alerts sent from Twitter to my cellphone when I woke up one morning.

I was interning at the CBC that week, actually, and so I heard about it through the grapevine of the newsroom. On Friday of that week I sat on the couch in the back of the story meeting, staring at the tv screen and the coverage of the tsunami. I barely paid any attention to the rest of the meeting.

It was the pictures. Cars being tossed around like toys, houses being moved, the wave just wouldn’t slow down.

Wow. So I followed CBC News to get my information about the disaster, since that is where I was introduced to it first. I regularly got updates on my phone throughout the day, and when I could search more freely in the evening I used Twitter after CBC online.

And through twitter I discovered more. It’s how I saw that video where the cameraman stays just above the wave. The link is dead now, or I’d post it.

However, there is a lot going on right now.

Japan, Libya, Egypt, ETC, the new Budget, potential elections….

It’s really hard to follow all of it. And I’m not sure if twitter is helping me or hindering me. I can get so caught up in searching for one thing, the others go completely forgotten for a day or two. It’s kind of ridiculous.

Like. hey, Elizabeth Taylor died. And it looks like Canadians are mostly concerned with Canadians right now. Trending topics? Michael Ignattieff, Elizabeth Taylor, snow, spring, firefox, Canadians, Layton, West Indies.

Oh twitter, how you appease our short attentions spans.

But what was I talking about? Oh yes, JAPAN.

Earthquake, Tsunami, Nuclear plants. At first all the coverage was WOW, this is crazy! What will happen now?!

And now the coverage is that this disaster will be the world’s costliest, but hey there was less iodine released in Japan than Chernobyl, so thats good, but nobody eat the food, and everybody donate.

When I don’t have a lot of time, I go to twitter for my news.

I’m not sure yet whether this is a bad habit or not.

BTW, for somebody who doesn’t want to be distracted by every shiny new piece of information, CBC News Online has a good, informative special report on Japan. So that’s what I’d recommend.

Leave a Reply

