Optimism? Really?

Posted: April 6, 2011 by Alyssa Mosher in #10 State of the Media

06/04/11

I’m always afraid when I think about the future of newspapers. Since the emergence of online journalism, things have been rough for newspapers. Online journalism seems to have taken over without any intention, really. People have changed over the decades, technology has changed, therefore our news sources have change. So I was surprised to find anything optimistic about the state of the news media.

I’m not going to lie, but I struggled to find anything majorly positive. I was looking for something that allowed me to hang on to the idea of newspapers. I’ve come to accept that they won’t be around for very long – why else would I decide to take my first paid journalism internship with a newspaper in another city? But this website talked a bit about hyper-local news and its place in news media. And I do find that very surprising. When I find myself in a newsroom – on the odd occasion – international news is very important – Japan and Libya more recently. To me, hyper-local news always seemed lost. Regular news programs didn’t have the room in the line-up. But I think the idea might be that newspapers – and online journalism – will always have room for that super local news.

And that’s something to look forward to.

Hyper-local news is forgotten because it never seems as important as everything else. Because it sometimes isn’t overly dramatic or can sometimes be a little fluffy, news organizations can sometimes ignore the relevancy. So it’s great to hear that there will be a place for news like this.

But I’m not sure that’ enough optimism. Every other point that I read about newspapers specifically, was extremely negative. There were negative points that I expect, too, so I’m not sure if I’m the only one who struggled for optimism. Maybe the creators of this website did too. While I was pleasantly surprised to see that there was something optimistic to say, so what?

Is surprise real optimism?

ciao4now

Comments
  1. Mike Carter says:

    Really!

Leave a Reply

